Skip navigation

There are few things that make me as furious as computers. I am usually very patient, but when it comes to computers I can get in a rage. Think… road rage, but with a mouse and keyboard. Not… german kid idling in the Tokara Forest in Unreal Tournament -rage, at least not when I’m not alone. But not always. Only when I want to do something really simple, that should go really fast, but for some reason takes forever.

This brings me to one perticular grind – uninstallers. Or rather, programs that upon installation does NOT include an uninstaller in their short-cut folder in the Start Menu (Windows).

One program's shortcut folder. Can you see an uninstaller?

One program's shortcut folder. Can you see an uninstaller?

All programs, except the most putrid and nasty ones, have uninstallers in one way or another. Most add an uninstall shortcut, making it easy to remove the program once you don’t want it anymore. You can in the majority of cases go to the “Add/Remove programs” -tool located in your Control Panel and do the same thing, or try to find the executable file somewhere in a mess of files where the program is installed – something that might be harder than it sounds. So in order to uninstall a program that has no shortcut for it, I have to open the “Add/Remove programs” -tool.

I am an average user, I guess. I don’t install things that I don’t need, and I try to keep the computer clean and uninstall things that I no longer use.

However… opening up my “Add/Remove programs” window takes 55 seconds for my computer, from when I double-click that pesky link to the point when the tool actually shows a list of all the programs it found. And that is just to see the list. Then you have to wade through that list and find what you are looking for, which might also be harder than constipation because some software developers don’t call their software the same thing in the uninstall list!

A program called “Twatter” might actually be called “Spam-Laden’s Twatter” just because they felt it was cool to add their company name “Spam-Laden” in the title. And I’ve seen worse.

So, over 1 minute. That’s not so much, you ask? Try it. Try, when you open up – say – your internet browser, you immediately click “Stop” and then force yourself to wait for 50 seconds before going on to any real page. Or, the next time you want to write a chat message to a friend, open your IM client and just stare at his/her name for 50 seconds, before you can click him/her and write something.

Pretty frustrating, no? Add to that the fact that this is far from everything that can go slow on your computer.

This is an annoyance that a software developer can remove, easily. Just add that fraking “uninstall me” shortcut to the Start Menu, and voila. The world is a faster, more efficient and most of all happier place!

Leave a Reply

