Skip navigation

I love Steam. And I love the concept of browsing games, demos and forums, making purchases and downloads right in the integrated browser.

But for the love of Gods…

Why does it have to be so slow?!

I have a good internet connection. My other web browsers are rather quick, and my downloads are always around 200 kB to 2 MB per second depending mostly on the source. But sometimes, I have to restart Steam to even be able to load the Store page, and when it loads, it’s usually soooo veeeeryyyy sloooow. So slow, even, that things fail to load.

To prove my point;

Good.

This is how it should look. This is Good.

Now, here’s an example of it usually looks;

Bad.

This is the usual look. This is Bad.

Ahaha… by the love of BBQ!

This is pelvis sausage.

This is pelvis sausage.

Now, it would be one thing if this happened all the time. Then the problem would probably be on my end, or at least something that could be figured out. But no! It’s only syruppy slow about 80% of the time, and when it’s not, it’s just as flickery fast as the rest of my internet browsing normaly is!

This grinds my gears a lot sometimes. I just want to check the screenshots of a game and… No. Failed to load. White screen. Restart Steam in order for it to retry. Almost load everything again, but fail to load something else instead. It’s as if some of my data is a rhino trying to cram itself in through a small window…. sooooo slooooow….. and when it finally pops through, everything comes rushing through as though nothing had happened!

…until that next rhino comes along…

Update: After not being able to load the store page at all, I figured that maybe this problem is with Internet Explorer. It seems as if Steam wraps, or uses, IE in their own browser and I remember now that for some reason my Internet Explorer (7) is pretty bad (slow, can’t find some sites). I’m a Firefox user (naturally) so I hadn’t given it much thought. I updated my IE from 7 to 8 and now it seems as if the browser in Steam works better. Temporary perhaps. Placebo perhaps. I don’t care as long as I get to keep some of the hair on my head.

Leave a Reply

